LOS ANGELES, Calif. /California Newswire/ — The annual LA Watts Summer Classic Basketball Tournament returned to action last week on June 16, 17 and 18 at various sites throughout Los Angeles. Over 20 boys and girls teams participated in the basketball event announced the California Basketball Association.

Coaches Miller and Fernandez
The California Basketball Association (CBA) led by Commissioner Dr. Michael Miller, announced that Crenshaw High School located at 5010 11th Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90043 will be the site for the boys basketball semi-finals and finals.

Dr. Miller excitedly announced the competing teams for the 2017 summer championship on Saturday morning June 24, 2017 as defending L.A. City Section Division 1 Champions Crenshaw HS led by coach Ed Waters; defending L.A. City Section Division 2 champions Gardena HS led by coach Ernie Carr; and the third boys team is L.A. City Section Division 4 runner-up Augustus Hawkins HS led by coach Tamao Kawai.

The schedule of games at Crenshaw HS on Saturday morning June 24, 2017 starts with the first semi-final at 10 a.m. between Gardena HS and veteran former college coach Ernie Carr against coaching newcomer Tamao Kawai and his outstanding team from Augustus Hawkins HS from South Central Los Angeles. The loser of this game goes on to play Ed Waters and the famed Crenshaw HS Cougars in the second semi-final at 11 a.m. The winner of the second semi-final game plays the winner of the first semi-final at 12 p.m. for the championship.

CBA Commissioner, Dr. Michael Miller is elated over the quality of teams and talent that will be on display in the Crenshaw HS gym.

He was quoted as saying “Any of these outstanding teams is capable of winning two games Saturday morning to take home the crown of 2017 LA Watts Summer Classic champions.” Commissioner Miller went on to say: “We are also excited about having the finals hosted by Crenshaw HS and express our deep gratitude to principal L. Remon Corley and the rest of the Crenshaw staff for allowing us to use this historic site for the boys finals.”

The girls basketball finals will also be held on June 24, 2017 and will be held at East Los Angeles College in Monterey Park, the California in the men’s gym. Games times for the girls site are 9:30 a.m., 10:30 a.m., 11:30 a.m. followed by the championship game at 12:30 p.m.

The competing teams on the girls side are led by defending L.A. City Open Division champions Fairfax HS and coach Chuck Harrell. The field also features defending L.A. City Section Division 3 champion Torres HS led by Coach Walter O’Neal. Torres high school is located right around the corner from East Los Angeles College and comes into the event as the sentimental choice by the locals. Upstart Rancho Dominguez HS led by coach Box will be attempting to become the first small school to win the ladies crown in LA Watts Summer Classic history.

Admission prices range between $5-$10 and are good for all games at both sites.

Commissioner Miller said: “This event is all about bringing people together from all of walks of life and from diverse areas of Los Angeles. The intent is to experience, through sport, a common bond and enjoy friendly competition through sport.”

He went on to say: “The LA Watts Summer Classic is all about making new friendships and enjoying great people while sharing a common experience. We at the CBA are honored and proud to be a part of this amazing annual event and look forward to seeing some great basketball games played on Saturday June 24, 2017. We certainly invite all basketball fans and all citizens of Los Angeles to come support the teams as they play with spirit and honor.”

Learn more:

*Photo Caption: CBA Commissioner Dr. Michael Miller with Sotomayor head coach Jesus Fernandez at the LA Watts Summer Classic in Compton, Calif.