S.F. Mayor Edwin M. LeeSAN FRANCISCO, Calif. /California Newswire/ — On Monday, S.F. Mayor Edwin M. Lee announced five recipients of the 2012-2013 Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Award. The award recipients will be recognized this evening during a San Francisco Giants’ home plate ceremony at AT&T Park. “Our public school teachers are true champions in San Francisco,” said Mayor Lee.

“They are dedicated to their students and are making sure they succeed both inside and outside the classroom. These five individuals are dynamic and innovative teachers in our City and we thank them for their passion and commitment.”

“It is an honor to celebrate our teachers who help our children grow and learn,” said San Francisco Unified School District (SFUSD) Superintendent Richard A. Carranza. “Our great teachers, and we have thousands in San Francisco, demonstrate mastery in both what they’re teaching and how they’re teaching. They understand that it is not just the particular subject that matters, but how students feel in their classroom. If there is a teacher who has made a difference in your life or the life of a child you know, please take a moment to say thank you.”

Formerly known as the Mayor’s Teacher of the Month Award, the Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Award is a collaborative project organized by the Mayor’s Office, SFUSD, the United Educators of San Francisco and the San Francisco Education Fund. The award recognizes the outstanding San Francisco public school educators for their dedication, professionalism, and work on behalf of the City’s young people. Recipients of the Mayor’s Award were nominated by the community – parents, youth, educators, administrators, and other community members – for excellence in their classroom, their school and their City.

Mayor Lee recognized the work of five outstanding teachers, each representing a division level: PreK, Elementary, Middle and High School. This year’s Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Award recipients are:
• Andra Young, Presidio Early Education School
• Andres Tobar, Marshall Elementary School
• Jennifer Moless, El Dorado Elementary School
• Joel Austin, Roosevelt Middle School
• Constance Walker, Woodside Learning Center

Each teacher will receive a check, an award from Tiffany & Co. and gifts and contributions from San Francisco institutions including SF Travel, California Academy of Sciences, Exploratorium, de Young Museum, SFMOMA and Beach Blanket Babylon and Starbucks, Microsoft and Hilton. The nomination and selection process for the Mayor’s Teacher of the Year Award occurs yearly.

For more information, go to: